Dinagat Islands 2D1N Itinerary for 5k

On my way to Siargao back in 2022, I had a pretty nice sleep during my flight. I was awakened during one of the Captain’s flight announcement and the view from my window seat took my breath away. We were flying over Dinagat Islands and what I saw made me want to visit this paradise province as soon as possible!

To achieve the 5k itinerary, you must book a flight to Surigao Airport, head to Dinagat Islands, then join a 2D1N tour for 3k. Here’s a quick summary of how it should look like:

You feel like it’s just a very short trip? You can then explore more of Surigao del Norte/Surigao del Sur or you can go to Siargao before flying back to Manila!

My itinerary was different though since I can’t seem to book the cheapest flight to Surigao, I opted to go for Butuan instead. Below is the fare breakdown for my roundtrip ticket:

DAY 1

My first day was consumed purely by traveling: land, sea, air! Plane from Manila to Butuan, Butuan to Surigao by bus, Surigao Port to San Jose Port in Dinagat Islands. It was a very long and tiring day but the sunset boat ride to Dinagat Island made me all the more excited! I arrived at Dinagat Islands past 6PM and then checked in at the nearby 3RJA Traveler’s Inn.

DAY 2

The first day was a very long day plus I had to do a night shift so for the second day, I had a very long sleep and woke up in the afternoon! I tried asking for motorcycle for rent in town but failed to find any. Unlike in Siargao where there’s motorcycle for rent everywhere, I hope Dinagat Islands would offer it too so we can explore more of the islands! Since I had no ride, I just walked around the town. It was tiring because there’s a lot of uphill walk but the view from above was super!

DAY 3

Alright, this is it! Officially, the start of Dinagat Island Tours! I availed mine from Jmalls Island Tourist Inn for 3k. Package includes tour guide, transfers, boat fees, accommodation, and even foods – breakfast, lunch, dinner! I think it is a very very great deal! So if you’re heading to Dinagat Islands, I highly recommend Jmalls.

From my accommodation, I rode a tricycle to Jmalls and I was assigned a room. I was surprised that they even offered free breakfast but I already had my coffee and bread so I politely declined (so I can eat more during lunch by the beach lol) We waited for the other guests, rode the van, and then picked up other guests staying at other accommodation/resorts and then headed to the port.

First stop was Pagkawasan Garden Beach Resort and wow, I fell in love with Dinagat Islands! It reminded me of what I saw during my flight to Siargao and now here I am up close and one with Dinagat. Fine white sand, clear waters, blue skies, beautiful rock formations. I could not ask for more!

Second stop was Bitaog Beach. They have very small shoreline but still enjoyable for a swim.

Third stop was Biray Biray Paradise Island. I agree with them naming this island as paradise. It is a very beautiful, calm, and relaxing place. I loved it here! We had lunch here at the paradise and then I used one of the hammocks by the trees while listening to my favorite songs. I’d love to experience this again!

We had some day tour joiners who need to catch the 4PM boat back to Surigao so we had to cut the stay short. Damn lol. So that’s it for the first day with 3 islands explored. We went back to Jmalls, freshened up, and had coffee. Dinner was included in the package too so I was very happy!

DAY 4

Call time was 7AM for our second day of the island hopping tour. We had our free breakfast and then rode the van to Libjo. We stopped by an overlooking view deck and how I wished I had a motorcycle ride cause there’s a lot more beautiful places to explore. The ride took more than an hour from the town of San Jose.

We then boarded our boat from the port and first stop was RSG Beach Resort. Another beautiful place and what makes this stop unique is their cave. The cave is optional with P50 fee and I highly recommend you try it too, I loved the water there.

Next stop was Pangabangan Beach Resort where we our lunch too. This is a very beautiful place but the waves are kinda rough during our docking. After lunch, we had our free time and I explored the area.

A few minute walk from Pangabangan is AO Beach Resort which is also known as the Blue Lagoon. This is where I spent a lot of my time swimming. I tried climbing to the view deck and wow. I was super happy with the view!

Surprisingly, there was a foreign guy who said he has seen some of my videos from Youtube when he was looking for tourist destinations in the Philippines. Wow, thank you Dre!

Last stop was Jelmar’s Resort! It was a very beautiful place but during our stay, the water was kinda polluted with the trapped trash. Everybody was tired too so nobody went for a swim.

We then went back to the port, then rode the van back to Jmalls. That was the end of the our 2D1N Dinagat Island Tour. Again, I highly recommend Jmalls as a tour provider in Dinagat Islands.

I had coffee, freshened up, and checked out of Jmalls. I then went back to 3RJA to stay for the night since there’s no more boat going to Surigao City.

DAY 5

I woke up early and then headed to the port. Rode the first trip back to Surigao City. Like I said, if you feel like the Dinagat Islands tour is very short, you can do some more touring in Surigao del Norte or Surigao del Sur.

I met with my niece and Ate Amy in Surigao City and they let me borrow their motorcycle. I rode the Zoomer X to Togonan Falls. I had the falls and pool all for myself and it was kinda mysterious there cause I felt like I’m being watched lol.

I regret not experiencing the hot springs in Camiguin so whenever I see hot springs in the destination, I always try to include it on my itinerary.

And here we go, Mapaso Wellness Resort is a hot spring resort located just an hour ride from Surigao City. I stayed longer here and it was very relaxing. I only paid P50 entrance fee and I was not required a cottage so it was really a great and sulit ride.

From Mapaso, I planned to loop to Mabua Pebble Beach. Halfway though, the Zoomer X broke down in the middle of the mountainous area with no signal. I was in no contact for hours and my family was very worried. Luckily, the locals helped me and the Zoomer X was fixed. I highly appreciate the guys that helped me (1 mechanic plus 2 side kick) and I asked how much they will charge me for the trouble. He said it’s P350, I was shocked he did not ask too much. I gave them 1500 and they were very happy! I got back in Surigao City around 9PM already. I haven’t had dinner yet so we went to the boulevard to grabbed some bite. It was a crazy long day!

DAY 6

I woke up early and then prepped to go back to Butuan City. Since Day 5 was a very long day, I was asleep most of the time during the bus ride. I woke up around Butuan City and then headed straight to the airport. I had tuna paksiw for brunch. And hey, it is my first time eating tuna! I was so happy!

After brunch, I checked in for my flight back to Manila. Supposed to fly around 12noon but the flight kept getting moved. We were able to board around 6PM and arrived in Manila around 8PM.

Another long day, good thing I had plenty of sleep during the bus ride.

That’s it for my Dinagat Island Tour! Again, if you feel like it is a short tour, you can add more to your itinerary. 🙂

Leave a comment